Audio Book Review: Striving for Normal by B.L. Mooney

22880970

Title: Striving for Normal
Series: Striving Series Book 1
Written by: B.L. Mooney
Narrated by Meghan Kelly
Publisher: Twisted Books LLC
Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins unabridged

Synopsis:

Normal. It was a relative term, or so I thought.

After a relationship from hell that almost killed me, I didn’t want another man in my life. A job, a home, and great friends were all I needed.

Simple.

Uncomplicated.

Until two men interrupted the calm I was pretending to be.

One could take me to the future—a future I never dared to dream I could have. A man who gave me a chance to smile and fix the mistakes I’d made. But, I shouldn’t get a second chance at a happily ever after.

The other would take me back to the past—a past I didn’t want but was all I knew. After losing the most important thing in my life, I didn’t deserve more than that.

Faced with choices I didn’t see coming, I knew I had to make a decision. Be thrust forward into a new life, or be held prisoner of bad choices from my old one. I was just striving for normal, but I didn’t know what normal was anymore.

Ages 18+ due to adult situations and violence.

My review: 

Striving for Normal is the first book in the Striving series.  Each book focus on a different female character that is somewhat related to each other.   At first I was not so sure about this book, it was a little slow in the beginning as the plot starts to build.  I did not start enjoying it after an hour in.  After that one hour mark, I could not stop listening.   The sex scenes are not as steamy as the others had mentioned.  This is definitely a romance book that focus on the story plot rather than just hot sex.  The outcome/climax was so unexpected!

I really like how Meghan Kelly gave each character a distinctive voice, so it was really easy to differentiate the characters from each others.  However, the voices she gave to almost all of the male characters except for the psychologist and some female characters were really weird.  The words tended to drag at the last syllable, making the characters sound really arrogant or jerks.  Even with the awkward accents, the pronunciation was clear and moved at a good pace.  Another problem I had while listening to audio book  was I had to adjust the volume several times.  Some of the screaming scenes were louder than normal.

Performance: 2 out of 5 Stars
Story: 4 out of 5 stars
Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Received a free copy from Audio Jukebox in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

