Audio Book Review: Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

27133311

Title: Sense and Sensibility (Unabridged)
Author: Jane Austen
Narrator: Rosalyn Landor
Length: 12 hours and 30 minutes (10 Discs)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
ISBN: 9781682628577

Synopsis:

The Dashwood sisters experience love and heartbreak while adjusting to a lower income lifestyle.

Set in Southwest England in the late 1800s, Sense and Sensibility follows the lives of the Dashwood sisters Elinor and Marianne. When inheritance money from their father does not fall their way, the sisters and their mother must move in with distant relatives. Settling in at Barton Park, the Dashwood sisters discover a new life, filled with new acquaintances and different suitors. From these new encounters, their lives are forever changed through a series of love, romance, and heartbreaks. Ultimately the sisters must choose between sense and sensibility while uncovering secrets about their potential suitors and the wealth-inspired motives the society holds.

My Review:

There are already so many reviews out there, so I would not focus too much on the book itself but the audio book.  When I saw Sense and sensibility being offered to be review on Audio Book Jukebox, I was so excited even though it is in CD format.  Pride and Prejudice is my favorite classic book ever.  I have heard that once one has read one of Jane Austen’s books, one does not need to read another.  That was why I did not read another.  After reading it, I can tell you that statement is false.

Like all the other Classic British Literature audio books, the narrators would have a British accent.  I am not an expert on accents, so I can not tell you was it region or period corrected.   Sometimes I would have a hard time understanding accents but not in this case.  Landor was easy to understand and still left me feeling like I was in Old England.

Landor did use unique voices for each characters.  They were distinctive enough to differentiate in a conversation but cannot be recognized by its voice only.  The pacing is a little slower for conversion but back to normal for narration.  I could read along with the book or listen to it by itself without any problem.

4 out of 5 stars
Received a free audio CD set from Audio Book Jukebox in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

